The 2013 Diva Impresario Awards Luncheon

Diva2013Diva2013HonoreesArticle and photos by Betty Young 

 On Friday, May 3, 2013 the Opera Society’s highly acclaimed Diva Impresario Awards Luncheon will be held at the newly renovated Broward Center for the Performing Arts.  The Opera Society, a philanthropic group of supporters of the Florida Grand Opera, will recognize individuals for their outstanding contributions to the Opera, the arts, and our community. Luncheon Chairman, Becky Irwin stated, “The Arts are more than just a wonderful pastime, the business of “the Arts” drives significant revenue, jobs, and increased quality of life in South Florida. No one knows this better than these dedicated men and women. I am delighted to announce this year’s honorees.”


The Divas

Mary Becht,  Former Director, Broward County Cultural Division

Harriet Mertz, Longtime Opera Patron, Opera Singer, Florida Grand Opera Lyric Society Grand Patron Member

Kristin Podack, President, Young Patronesses of the Opera


The Impresarios

William K. Hill, Esq., Shareholder, Gunster, Chairman, Florida Grand Opera Board of Directors

William Riddle, Executive Director, Venetian Arts Society

Kelley Shanley, President and CEO, Broward Center for the Performing Arts

Samuel M. Townsend, Longtime Opera Patron, Lyric Society Impresario Member

Gregory von Hausch, President and CEO, Fort Lauderdale International Film Festival           


Guest will be welcomed in the Peck Court reception, with a special signature “Tsartini” cocktail courtesy of Tsar Premium Vodka, and a glimpse behind-the-scenes of the performance, “La Traviata.” The new Chinese raffle will include a Holland America Caribbean Cruise, a weekend stay at the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, portrait sitting by Tiffany photographers, Florida Grand Opera tickets, Broadway show tickets, discounts from Travel Spots Shots and much more.

Following the reception, guests will be seated in the theater for the program, hosted by the beloved voice of FGO, Justin Moss.

At the conclusion, guests will be ushered into the Horvitz Lobby of the Au-Rene Theater to indulge in a gourmet feast prepared by the Broward Center’s Executive Chef. The angelic voices of members of Florida Grand Opera’s Young Artist Studio will fill the lobbies as guests enjoy this one-of-a kind event.

Committee members include Becky Irwin, Chairman, Kim Naimoli, President, Helena Caplan, Carol Frei, Barbara Parent, Nuccia McCormick, Eric Koskoff, Ruth Molina and Betty Young and Barbara Copanos, Founder.

For information on how to become an underwriter or sponsor of the “Diva Impresario Awards Luncheon,” or make reservations to attend the event, please call 954-249-0374

Photo of the Committee

Front row

Becky Irwin, Chairman

Betty Young, VP Public Relations

Eric Koskoff, VP Membership

2nd row

Shelly Bradshaw. VP of operations at Broward Center for the performing Arts

Helena Caplan

Carol Frei

Kim Naimoli, President

3rd row

Maria Ordonez

Barbara Parent


Photo of Honorees

First row

Samuel M. Townsend

Harriet Mertz,

Mary Becht

Kristin Podack

William K. Hill, Esq.

2nd row

Kelley Shanley

William Riddle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.